Congratulations Teacher of the Year Honorees!

Congratulations to the 2018 Alberta Muirhead Teacher of the Year Students’ Choice Award winners! The annual event is held at the Performing Arts Center and sponsored by the Dearborn Area Chamber of Commerce and many local business partners.

This year’s winners were selected from hundreds of entries submitted by students. The nomination letters were filled with stories about how their teachers not only impacted their instruction but touched their lives.
In his comments to the audience gathered at the event Superintendent Dr. Glenn Maleyko said, “Tonight four teachers will receive a well deserved acknowledgement of appreciation and excellence. They will be recognized because they are committed to educating our youth, expanding the horizons of students, and caring about the well being of children. Looking out upon the crowd gathered here, knowing several of these teachers, and observing many of them first hand… I know the selection committee must have had a very difficult time only picking four.”
He lateer went on to say that every teacher nominated has made a difference in the lives of their students. They make their classroom, their school and the district a place of quality learning for all students. He thanked all the teachers for their dedication to the profession of teaching and for being a part of the Dearborn Public Schools.

In the photo, from left: Dearborn Chamber of Commerce Education Committee Chair Phil Emma; Dearborn Chamber President Jackie Lovejoy; Teacher of the Year High School winner Dr. John Bayerl, Michael Berry Career Center; Middle School winner Peter Suni, Bryant Middle School; Elementary, Pre-K to 2nd grade winner Elizabeth Gutierrez, Geer Park Elementary; Elementary grades 3-5 winner Maria Iuliano, Geer Park Elementary; and Superintendent Glenn Maleyko, Ph.D.

-June 2018 – The First Bell