2022 Teacher of the Year winners announced

Three women hold glass Teacher of the Year Awards including Haifaa Mourad-Chamma, Cathy Tade and Sarah Verrier.

Celebrating 25 years of honoring Dearborn Educators, the Dearborn Area Chamber of Commerce with assistance from the Dearborn Public Schools recognized the winners of the 2022 Alberta Muirhead Teacher of the Year Students’ Choice Awards on Thursday, April 21. 

Awards were presented in five categories. The winning teachers are Nate Brow of McDonald Elementary (preK-2nd grades), Sarah Verrier of Howe Elementary (3rd-5th grades), Todd Colville of Unis Middle, Haiffa Mourad-Chamma of Dearborn High, and Cathy Tade in Adult Education.

The Dearborn Area Chamber of Commerce hosted the awards presented by LaFontaine Automotive Group.  The ceremony at the Ford Community and Performing Arts Center was attended by more than 200 teachers, who were also able to enter a special raffle at the event.

Each of the five honorees received a $1,000 cash prize, a hand-made glass apple award from the Glass Academy in Dearborn, a season pass to the Dearborn Symphony, and memberships to The Henry Ford Museum of American Innovation,  AAA,  HYPE Athletics and Crunch Fitness, along with several gift cards to area restaurants and businesses. 

The Chamber’s Education Committee, chaired by Philipp Emma, selected the five winners from a field of more than 2,000 nominations for more than 500 educators. The committee included dedicated members of the educational and business communities.

Community partners sponsoring the event are LaFontaine Automotive Group, Campbell Family Owned McDonald’s, Fairlane Town Center, Modern Greek & Salad Bar, SMART Flex, Century 21 Curran & Oberski, Dearborn Agency, Dearborn Federal Savings Bank, DFCU Financial, Gallagher Benefits Services, Dearborn Federation of Teachers, Services To Enhance Potential, Central Michigan University, Jim Thorpe Ameriprise Financial, MEEMIC Toler-Stemen Agency, Orange Theory Fitness, Sphinx Technologies, University of Michigan-Dearborn, Crunch Fitness- Dearborn, Dearborn Education Foundation, Famous Hamburger, Henry Ford College, La Pita Restaurant, PSN Technology, Delta Dental, Mati’s Deli, Detroit Furniture, Central Michigan University, HYPE Athletics, Siena Heights University, George Darany- City Clerk for The City of Dearborn, AAA Michigan-Renata Crooms, Brome Modern Eatery, and Dearborn Symphony, The Henry Ford Museum of American innovation, & The Glass Academy. 

Education is one of the Dearborn Area Chamber’s core strategies. Through programs such as Teacher of the Year, the Chamber, a 600+ member organization, cultivates learning and mentoring opportunities between the student population and local business.

Caption: Shown are three of the 2022 Alberta Muirhead Teacher of Year Student Choice award winners. From the left – high school honoree Haifaa Mourad-Chamma, Dearborn High; adult education honoree Cathy Tade; 3rd to 5th grade honoree Sarah Verrier, Howe Elementary. Not pictured are preK-2nd grade honoree Nate Brow, McDonald Elementary, and middle school honoree Todd Colville, Unis Middle School.