Dearborn High film students win awards, plan annual film festival

Presenting the WDHS Film Festival, Friday May 20th and Saturday the 21st. Dearborn High School Auditorium, 7 p.m. Tickets $10 at the box office or in the studio

Several Dearborn High School film students were recently recognized by the Michigan Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences.

The public can view some of the award winning films at this year’s WDHS Film Festival on May 20 and 21 at Dearborn High School in the auditorium.  The event starts at 7 p.m. both nights.  Tickets are $10 and available at the door or before the event at the WDHS studio inside the school.

Films recognized this year by the Michigan Chapter include:

  • Ducks Don’t Drink and Drive won for Public Service Announcement and for Animation/Graphics/Special Effects; Caitlin Milligan, writer/director; Zahraa Alnakash, producer; Cy Hunter, Diamond Fuller, and Rayan Hamid, lighting.
  • Christmas Popcorn won for Commercial and Animation/Graphics/Special Effects; Caitlin Milligan, writer/director; Cy Hunter, producer; and Mostafa Alzeidawi, editor.
  • Smash Bash won for Audio/Sound; Owen Schook, sound editor.
  • Oxford Fight Song also won for Audio/Sound; Ian Kennedy audio mixer and sound editor.

Learn more on the event website.

Dearborn High School was also a recipient of the 2022 John Schimpf/Lynne Boyle Scholarships and Grants to help “students as they rise to the challenge of serving our society and ascending to become the next generation of journalism and media industry professionals,” according to the Michigan Chapter’s website.

WDHS 2022 Film Festival poster