Nominations open for Teacher of the Year

A group of adults poses for a photo at the 2023 Teacher of the Year awards ceremony.

Nominations have now opened for the 2024 Alberta Muirhead Teacher of the Year Students’ Choice Award.  

This annual award is sponsored by the Dearborn Area Chamber of Commerce and presented by LaFontaine Automotive Group. The nomination deadline is Friday, March 1, 2024 at 5 p.m.  The online nomination form is available on both the Dearborn Public Schools website and the Dearborn Area Chamber of Commerce site. Adults may assist students in completing nominations when necessary.  No more than two teachers may be nominated per student.

Awards will be presented to a total of five Dearborn Public Schools teachers – one in each of five categories.

Students may nominate any new or veteran teacher whom they feel has made an outstanding contribution to the teaching profession. Preschool through second grade students are asked to describe how their teacher makes learning fun. Third through fifth grade students must describe how their teacher has created a classroom where learning is positive and fun. Middle school students (grades 6-8) are asked to explain how their teacher connects classroom learning with everyday life. Students in high school must describe how their teacher is preparing them to be college and career ready, specifically how the teacher motivates them to pursue a college degree, certification, trade apprenticeship, military service or job. Adult education students should describe how the teacher helped them identify and pursue personal goals, whether educational or career oriented, and how lessons are relevant to those goals.

“I know so many of our teachers are deserving of this award, and I hope many of our students will take a few moments to nominate their favorite teacher.  Nominating a teacher for this award is a great way to honor them and show appreciation for the work they have done to create a meaningful educational experience,” said Dearborn Public Schools Superintendent Glenn Maleyko. 

Only online nominations will be accepted this year.  All nominations are due by 5 p.m. on March 1, 2024.

Nominations will be assessed on the quality of the nomination, not on the number received.  Award judges are members of the Dearborn Area Chamber of Commerce Education Committee and are not provided with the teachers’ names. One winner from each category will be announced at a special ceremony to be held at the Ford Community and Performing Arts Center on Thursday, April 18th at 4:30 p.m. Nominated teachers and the students who submitted nominations are invited to attend.  Check in for nominated teachers will begin at 4:15 p.m.

Teachers selected to receive the Teacher of Year Award are recognized as positive role models who consistently provide unique, productive, positive classroom experiences. Winning teachers receive a $1,000 cash prize and a glass award commemorating their achievement. They also will join a select group of Dearborn teachers who have been recognized by the community for their dedication and passion for teaching. 

“I want to thank the Chamber of Commerce and all the sponsors for once again providing this event,” Dr. Maleyko added. “Our district is very fortunate to have so many great community partners willing to support and honor our hardworking teachers.” 

For a list of sponsors and other information, please visit the Dearborn Area Chamber of Commerce site.


Teacher of the Year nomination form

Teacher of the Year digital flier pdf (or flier png)