Thank you for supporting the Operating Millage Renewal

Graphic thanking the community for supporting the Operating Millage Renewal

Dear Friends and Supporters,

On behalf of the staff and students in the Dearborn Public Schools, we want to personally extend our most sincere appreciation for your support to renew the Operating Millage. More importantly, we want to thank you for caring about the students in our classrooms. 

Renewal of this millage will maintain $41 million of the district’s general fund budget and ensure our per-pupil funding levels remain at state-appropriated levels. These funds, which  are used to cover the day to day costs of running the district, will help us maintain the progress and success we have seen in our schools including:

  • Five National Blue Ribbon Schools in seven years.
  • 96% graduation rate
  • Accredited by Cognia Global Commission
  • Art and music offered at every grade level.
  • Athletics offered in middle and high school with no pay to play costs.
  • Low class sizes with an average 22 in elementary, 25 in middle school and 24 in high school.
  • Nearly double the number of social workers since the pandemic began to address social-emotional health.
  • Four different programs that allow students to get both a high school diploma and associate degree or trade certification in five years at no cost to their family.
  • The highest dual enrollment rate in the state.
  • More than 600 free preschool spots offered at 15 different locations.

Your actions on Election Day send a clear message that residents in our district are committed to maintaining quality schools in our community. Whether you displayed a lawn sign, attended a meeting, worked a poll, or simply cast your vote in favor of the renewal, your effort made a difference.

Again, thank you for your continued support. 


Glenn Maleyko, Ph.D


Board of Education

Hussein Berry, President

Mary K. Petlichkoff, Vice President

Irene Watts, Secretary

Pat D’Ambrosio, Treasurer

Roxanne McDonald, Trustee

Adel Mozip, Trustee

Jim Thorpe, Trustee